Don't miss out Virtual Happy Hour this Friday (April 26).

Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

EPiServer MVC Routing(?) issues

Vote:

Hi, I'm fairly new to working with EPiServer in MVC and I'm having some issues with routing I think.

I'm trying to access an action from a controller in a custom block I made by using this call:

@using (Html.BeginForm("Logout", "LogoutBlock", FormMethod.Post))
    {

}

and the controller looks like this:

[HttpPost]
        public void Logout()
        {
            FormsAuthentication.SignOut();
            Session.Clear();
            UrlHelper url = new UrlHelper(System.Web.HttpContext.Current.Request.RequestContext);
            Response.Redirect(UrlHelpers.PageLinkUrl(url, PageReference.StartPage).ToHtmlString());

}

But the problem is that it doesn't enter the specified controller and gives me http://mypage.com/LogoutBlock/Logout as the url, leading to a 404 Not Found.

I've read a little about routing but I'm not quite sure how to go at it, any ideas how I can solve this?

Sep 03, 2014 15:15
Vote:

I think that you won't be able to post back directly to block's controller. That's pretty tricky. Is it possible for you to have a AccountController for instance with Logout method?

If you are dealing with multiple languages in your site, remember to include language routing value (in this case - code fragment posts back to the same page):

Html.BeginForm(null, null, new { language = ContentLanguage.PreferredCulture.Name }, FormMethod.Post)
Sep 03, 2014 19:26
Vote:

You can not go directly to a EPiServer block but you can go directly to a MVC-controller.
For exampel create a Controller like this:

public class LogoutController : Controller
{
	[HttpPost]
        public ActionResult Logout()
        {
            FormsAuthentication.SignOut();
            Session.Clear();
            UrlHelper url = new UrlHelper(System.Web.HttpContext.Current.Request.RequestContext);