Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Bulk import product images - Commerce 7.5

Vote:

Hello guys

I am new to Commerce and any help would be appreciated.

I'm struggling to find a solution for a maybe simple task.

I have a list of product images with external urls that needs to be downloaded from its original source, uploaded as Commerce assets and attached to the matching products. This needs to be scheduled by a job that runs every night.

Thanks in advance

Miroslav

Jan 24, 2014 22:52
Vote:

Hello,

My suggested solution is (assuming you are using 7.5)

- Create a scheduled job, which inherits from JobBase and override the Execute method

- In the Execute method, you can write code to request to external urls and download images 

- Code to upload image to asset:

private IContentRepository _contentRepository = ServiceLocator.Current.GetInstance<IContentRepository>();
private IContentTypeRepository _contenttypeRepository = ServiceLocator.Current.GetInstance<IContentTypeRepository>();
private BlobFactory _blobFactory = ServiceLocator.Current.GetInstance<BlobFactory>();

private ContentMediaResolver _contentMediaResolver = ServiceLocation.ServiceLocator.Current.GetInstance<ContentMediaResolver>();

private Guid SaveMediaContent(FileInfo fileInfo, Stream stream, ContentReference parentLink)
{

//Get the content type which is registered with this file extension
var contentType = _contenttypeRepository.Load(_contentMediaResolver.GetFirstMatching(fileInfo.Extension));

//Get the content of the destination folder
ContentFolder destinationFolder = _contentRepository.Get<ContentFolder>(parentLink);

//get the default content of the content type above
file = _contentRepository.GetDefault<MediaData>(parentLink, contentType.ID);

//assign content's name
file.Name = fileInfo.Name;

//Create a blob 
var blob = _blobFactory.CreateBlob(file.BinaryDataContainer, fileInfo.Extension);

//save blob data by the binary data of the file

blob.Write(stream);