Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Need help on 'Getting started'

Vote:

Hi, first of all sorry if this is not the correct forum to post this question, but here goes anyways.

Just setted up my 'evaluation' environment for EPiServer CMS 5.2.375.236 and I'm totally new to it. I completed the Getting started : Setting Up a New EPiServer Site with Visual Studio, but I think it still lacks some info for anewbie like me on the product.

I did the express install and the demo site works ok and I can edit and add content there but on this clean project I can't do the same things atleast not the same way as in the demo site.

My first question is how do I define the 'start' page in the 'Edit mode' ? I managed to get it done by first creating a new page from the top most menu 'Create new page' and the modifing the web.config by setting pageStartId=3 (the id of the page I had just created). I doubt this is the correct way to do it, so how should I do it? Also now if I right click thenode, the 'Create new' in the context menu is not enabled, but again I can create a new page from the top most menu icon 'Create new page'.

I'm just comparing to the demo site, where the right click context menu has the option available to add a page.

Next question would be, how do I create hierarchies/categories in the 'Edit view'.

I suppose most of us are starting the weekend, but I hope I could get some answers on monday.

Cheers, Antti

Oct 09, 2009 14:21
Vote:

Hi,

I hope that you have found answers to your questions by now, if not then i could try giving them.

Setting it up in web.cofig is the correct way (as far as I was told during training). If you would like to give editor / admin control over this property you may have to create a custom editor / admin plug-in which would set this property in web.config. Like you can change the existing web.config through admin if you navigate to Admin | config | system settings

You can access this property via