Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

ADFS 2.0 - Redirecting fine, but throwing an error on the webserver

Vote:

Im very new to ADFS, so go easy on me. The startup class based on the Epi Documentation seems to be working correctly. If I try to hit myurl.gov/episerver for this test site, it passes through the adfs server and sends me back to the home page. Unfortunately Im getting an error on the webserver. 

IDX10503: Signature validation failed. Keys tried: '[PII is hidden by default. Set the 'ShowPII' flag in IdentityModelEventSource.cs to true to reveal it.]'.
Exceptions caught:
'[PII is hidden by default. Set the 'ShowPII' flag in IdentityModelEventSource.cs to true to reveal it.]'.
token: '[PII is hidden by default. Set the 'ShowPII' flag in IdentityModelEventSource.cs to true to reveal it.]'.

Has anyone come across this? 

Thanks!

Jun 13, 2018 21:20
Vote:

Hi Erik,

I faced this same error with OpenId Connect implementation. The problem obviously is that the default signature validator cannot validate the token signature.

First to see the "PII is hidden..." you need to add this in your code:

Microsoft.IdentityModel.Logging.IdentityModelEventSource.ShowPII = true;

That way you will see what key was used to try to validate the signature (there could be multiple but usually there is just one). But that will not mostly like help you much with the issue, you can just check that it is using the correct key to validate the signature.

You should check from the returned token header what algorithm is used to verify the signature (header alg value), it could be a public key or a certificate etc.

Have a look at this article (might help you): https://medium.com/the-new-control-plane/validating-an-adfs-jwt-token-1146bb529a2a