Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

EditorDescriptors

Vote:

Hello,

I am new in the EPiServer world. I would like to have a custome editor for my images. This editot should contain a picture of course but also all the meta data like the alternate text, the width, height, ...

For of all If you have an example of this kind of editor with more than one field in it it will be great :) But if not, if I understand the documentation correctly I need to implement a custom EditorDescriptors. Correct? Then I need to change the ClientEditingClass to a custom one. And after that I will need to wrte my own dojo plugin?

If you have some documentation or example for this it will be great.

REgards,

Benjamin

May 02, 2013 15:33
Vote:

Hi,

There are some blogs created by Linus Ekstrom about this.
This one for example: http://world.episerver.com/Blogs/Linus-Ekstrom/Dates/2012/11/Creating-a-more-advanced-property-editor/

However, are you sure that what you are trying to accomplish can't be achieved by using Blocks?

Greetings,

Martijn

May 02, 2013 17:44
Vote:

Hi Martijin

I think most people who asked this question are actually looking for a multi property control, as far as I know, current EPiServer 7 doesn't support  the collection of blocks, which cause a big pain for us, the way to build the custom property and UI is very hard and deep learning curve. I asked few times in the forum, seems EPiServer team doesn't really care this and no clear future indication so far. 

May 03, 2013 4:51
Vote:

As Martin pointed out above, blocks is the way to accomplish this. Just add a block with whatever properties you like (URL to image, alternate text etc.) and add a property with the block type to your model and the UI should auto-assemble based on the properties in the block.