Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Copy a producatuon Virtual EpiServer for Development

Vote:

Hi,

I'm new to EpiServer and have 0% experience of using it... However I'm a Senior .Net developer with a lot of experience.

I have a live production EpiServer that my organisation uses for its main intranet.  The EpiServer was developed and installed by a 3rd party but we are considering developing it further and want to take a copy of it for some research and development.  The EpiServer is installed on a virtual server with MS SQL Server on the same box.  The virtual environment is HyperV and Virtual Machine Manager.

Is it possible to copy VM of the live production virtual server and create a new virtual server so that I can R&D?  If so is there any changes I need to do? If not is there another way to copy the lvie environment?

Thanks Guys!

Aug 06, 2012 13:07
Vote:

Hi Paddy,

Getting a copy of the virtual server would be the quickest way to get going. But to be able to change anything in the current functions you will need to get the sourcecode from the 3d party as well.

If you can live with the "old stuff" and just want to add new things you could set up a new solution and develop against the old db. Just make sure not to loose the dll:s from the 3d party.

Aug 06, 2012 15:10
Vote:

Thanks Petter thats spot on...

Not knowing how EpiServer works at the moment would it be normal to have lots of custom code in DLLs?  Is that how its normally deployed?

I was hoping that at a basic level EpiServer would have the website templates and configuration settings that could be easily changed.

Aug 06, 2012 15:42
Vote:

EPiServer comes with a Template package. But most people will use a developer to either extend or create new templates to make the site work and feel the way the customer wants.