Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

how to show a simple RSS feed with HTML code ?

Vote:

I know there is a template page type in episerver for making pages with a RSS feed on it, but I want to place a RSS feed in a specific place/frame on an already existing page. I am pretty new to episerver and doesn't know anything about developing for it, nor do I really have the time to start learning it right now. So I am hoping there is a way to get a simple RSS feed on my start page simply by editing my default.aspx page and insert some HTML code for it. If there is a solution like this, please show me the html code needed, as I cannot find anything about it in the Epi documentation. The manual do have an interesting part saying: "The following example renders the channel title and the top five item titles:

<%# container.title %>

<%# container.title %>
In order to use this control you must provide markup templates since the control has no built-in layout." This part seems to be what I am after, some kind of HTML code to render a RSS feed. But there are no mentioning in the SDK of what specific markup templates is needed to get it to work and show it on a page, where to set the RSS url to get the feed, how to define settings like nr of news to show and so on. I would really appreciate if someone could help me out with this. Thanks
Mar 19, 2007 10:09
Vote:

If you have an example site, see the /templates/units/RssListing.ascx. You could use this user control directly on you start page. It requires the following property on your start page type: RssUrl (string) You can also use: RssHeading (string) CacheTime (number) See the Newslist page type, where these are already in use. /Steve
Mar 19, 2007 12:28
Vote: