Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

How do you set the default DeliveryApiKey for a Content Recommendation Block?

Vote:

Hello, 

I am pretty new to Episerver development, and I am working with Content Recommendations. 

Right now I am trying to make it so every new Content Recommendations block by default will have the same delivery-source (if that makes sense). 
So we have a couple of widgets set up, and I'd like the block by default to be set to "Daily News", for example. 

In the SetDefaultValues() method, I've written: 
this.DeliveryAPIKey = "Daily News"; 
(as I'm not verified yet, I am unable to upload image of my code) :(

I am aware this is not correct, but I do not understand how I set this string to one of our delivery channels.
Is there a good way of doing this?

Thank you in advance :)

Jan 14, 2021 13:50
Vote:

If you want to set the same value (e.g. Daily News) for each newly created block then set the properties to value under SetDefaultValues() method.

public override void SetDefaultValues(ContentType contentType)
 {
            base.SetDefaultValues(contentType);
            this.DeliveryAPIKey = "Daily News"; 

}

If you want to set a property value with the same name of the created block, then you can assign the Block/Page name in the property as below:

public virtual string DeliveryAPIKey => this.Name;

Jan 14, 2021 15:51
Vote:

I thought this was the proper way at first too, but it seems this property is set to some kind of ID.
When I am debugging and I attempt to get the value of this string, it shows the value in this image: https://imgur.com/h90i96v

This seems to be an ID for the delivery feed. 

It does actually work setting the DeliveryAPIKey value to this through the SetDefaultValues() method, and then the block will have the "Daily News" feed just fine. 
However, is this ID something that might change in the future?