Don't miss out Virtual Happy Hour this Friday (April 26).

Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Use Content Delivery API from existing Vue/Nuxt app?

Ian
Ian
Vote:

I am completely new to Optimizely and I am climbing the learning curve as quickly as I can but I have been in software development for over two decades and have worked with many CMS platforms.

I have an existing Vue/Nuxt app that relies on SSR. It is connected to a legacy CMS that we want to replace with Optimizely. We don't have any commerce. Users mostly filter lists of data (not content) and view the data. My users don't want to manage the site structure / routing at all and I have many Vue components unrelated to content.

From reading in this forum and elsewhere, it seems like I should be able to use the Content Delivery API to retrieve content (using Optimizely as a headless CMS). Alternatively, I could create a new Optimizely site and incorporate my existing Vue components.

So far, it seems like the first option (headless CMS into existing Vue app) would be the most advantageous since I would not be re-creating everything, just the CMS calls. Further, I understand that OPE is possible in an SSR site (from David Knipe's post "Video: Set up Optimizely Foundation Single Page Application reference").

Is there anything else I should consider before I proceed? Are there alternatives I am missing?

Thanks in advance - all thoughts are welcome.

Edited, Feb 13, 2023 17:45
Eric Herlitz - Feb 13, 2023 21:29
There's an older sample Vue-site in Optimizelys GitHub repo, using an older CMS (11) but still a great starting point from what you are describing. https://github.com/episerver/musicfestival-vue-template
Ian - Feb 13, 2023 21:32