Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

URL Rewrite provider issue

Vote:

We have decided to implement a URL Rewrite provider but i'm have major issues just getting the xml to find my custom provider.

I'm new to providers in general so i'm really not sure if "Fus.Digital.Business.SeoFriendlyUrlRewriter,Fus" is correct to call:

namespace Fus.Digital.Business
{
    public class SeoFriendlyUrlRewriter : FriendlyUrlRewriteProvider
    {

I'm getting..

Configured provider type SeoFriendlyUrlRewriter could not be loaded

as a result.

Issue #2: In any writing i've seen they've added..

But adding this causes the error: The entry 'HierarchicalUrlRewriteProvider' has already been added.

Is this added automatically in 7.5 or do I still need to worry about it?

I'd really appreciate any help on this as I'm pulling out hair!

Oct 03, 2014 3:18
Vote:

Hi, 

type="Fus.Digital.Business.SeoFriendlyUrlRewriter,Fus" is the full type name of your url rewriter module, where Fus should be the name of the assembly. Do you compile to Fus.dll or other name?

I don't quite get your second question?

Regards.

/Q

Oct 03, 2014 6:08
Vote:

Thanks so much for your help! I have now a provider that's working :)

My second question was do I need to add in HierarchicalUrlRewriteProvider, EPiServerIdentityUrlRewriteProvider, EPiServerNullUrlRewriteProvider to the episerver.config as this is what the blog posts say to do but it errors when I try. I'm thinking it might have changed in V7 that you don't require them. Works without so i'm not too fussed if youre not sure.

Oct 03, 2014 6:51
Vote:

Yes, I think you don't have to add that section. It should work fine. HierarchicalUrlRewriteProvider is the default one since EPiServer 7.

/Q

Oct 03, 2014 7:01
Vote:

What is the purpose of writing a custom URL provider?