Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Questions about MVC

Vote:

Hi, I have some questions regarding MVC in EPiServer that I don't really understand. If a question is to "big" to answer in an easy way I would really appreciate if someone could provide a link to where I can read more about the relevant topic. I have had problems finding information for some topics but that may be me that is just bad at finding information =)

I have been looking on Joel Abrahamsson's excellent article "ASP.NET MVC Templates for EPiServer 7 CMS" and been trying to understand the code and how things actually works but there is some parts that I don't really understand. I'm quite new to both asp.net and to EpiServer ( but  not to programming) so please bear with me if some questions seems "stupid".

1. First a question about initialization. I have read in the developer guide that to have a discoverable initialization module the class has to be decorated with [InitializableModule] or [ModuleDependency(...)] and implement the interface IInitializableModule. If those criterias are met the class implementing the methods in IInitializableModule are executed during startup automagically from the framework. This is all logic and described in the developer guide. However in the code for the "MVC Templates" there is class defined as below

[InitializableModule]
public class DependencyResolverInitialization : IConfigurableModule
{
    public void ConfigureContainer(ServiceConfigurationContext context)
   { .....