Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Create a page to display partial views

Vote:

I'm brand new to EPiServer and am trying to gauge what the equivalent of part of a current MVC 2 site we host would be in EPiServer. The site lets you enroll in classes and takes you through a series of wizard-like forms. For instance, in order, you might visit:

• site/Enroll/ChooseClass/
  • site/Enroll/AddStudent/
  • site/Enroll/ChooseStudent/
  • site/Enroll/Tuition/
  • site/Enroll/Cart/

Each of those actions returns a different view containing a form for the user to work with. If we go with EPiServer for our site, it would need to have an equivalent of this /Enroll/ section of the site and none of its views would be interacting with the CMS content. Right now I'm just trying to figure out how to mock this up at the "Hello World" complexity level but so far am stuck. Here's what I've tried:

What I don't want to do is create a page type for every page involved. So I created one new page type named OEPage. I wanted to give a content editor some way of creating each page and choosing the wizard step view...for lack of a better term. So I gave the page an Enum property for the "control type" it should display.

[ContentType(DisplayName = "OEPage", GUID = "7484998f-3c37-4e35-8489-f62718c4fb08", Description = "")]
    public class OEPage : SitePageData
    {
        /*
                [CultureSpecific]
                [Display(
                    Name = "Main body",
                    Description = "The main body will be shown in the main content area of the page, using the XHTML-editor you can insert for example text, images and tables.",
                    GroupName = SystemTabNames.Content,
                    Order = 1)]
                public virtual XhtmlString MainBody { get; set; }
         */

[Display(Name = "OE Control Type",
                 Description = "The OE control to load on this page.",
                 GroupName = SystemTabNames.Content,