Don't miss out Virtual Happy Hour this Friday (April 26).

Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Display Channel vs Responsive Design

Vote:

I am not an UI expert but the concept of Display channel in Episerver having multiple display/view for the same page depending upon the requesting client/browser is putting me to think, Can it be a replacement for Responsive framework like Bootstrap.

I understand responsiveness is more than just different view for different devices , How is the feature Display Channel best utlized?

Sep 29, 2016 11:34
Vote:

I would only use Display Channel as an editor tool, i.e. a way to preview how the page will look like in another device/screen size.

Sep 29, 2016 14:33
Vote:

You can certainly use display channels to deliver a mobile-specific view of your Episerver site however it's far from being a replacement for responsive build techniques. Fundamentally, they are two different things. Responsive principles are about creating an experience which works regardless of device or screen size, and adaptive mechanisms such as display channels are about delivering different user experiences based on criteria such as user agent.

The route you should choose depends on the site and how users interact with it across different devices however it's extremely rare nowadays to find a situation where the responsive route isn't the best option. Also bear in mind that, even if you do want to tailor content for mobile devices, you could use personalisation while still retaining the benefits of a responsive site.

As an aside, display channels are not restricted to simply delivering mobile/non-mobile views - they can deliver differing views based on any criteria you care to write and so there are loads of use cases for this feature.