Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Subscription feature missing

Vote:

I am getting warning "SubscriptionList' is obsolete: 'The subscription feature is being phased out, it will continue to work but we do recommend not using it for new solutions"

I am still new in EPIServer world and was trying to find what was exactly it was changed to but found this http://world.episerver.com/documentation/upgrading/Episerver-CMS/75/Breaking-changes/

But nothing is mentioned as to what is changed and no link on replacement of it.

Here is my code

foreach (ListItem item in Interval.Items)
            {
                item.Selected = Int32.Parse(item.Value) == EPiServer.Personalization.Subscription.Interval; // get warning here
            }
            SubscriptionList.DataBind();

Will be nice to know where to find proper documentation for changes.

Feb 07, 2017 11:57
Vote:

My feeling is so due to the deprecated message and the Internal change of SubcriptionMail that the subscription system i about to be phased out...
You could always refactor and build your own subscription system.

I'll check if I can get a better answer for you...

Regards

Feb 07, 2017 13:48
Vote:

Will be nice if you can find some replacement... Building everything could be bit too much...

Feb 07, 2017 13:54
Vote:

The Subscription feature is a remnant from Epi 4, and has not (AFAIK) been maintained much since. The feature is dependant on a couple of properties containing hyphens (EPSUBSCRIBE-ROOT and EPSUBSCRIBE-EXCLUDE), which you are not allowed to create in code in Epi 7+ (i.e, they have to be created via the admin interface). See http://world.episerver.com/blogs/Per-Nergard/Dates/2013/4/CMS-7-Subscriptions-bug/

So, you should not base any new project on the deprecated Subscription feature.

Here are some proposed alternatives: 

Feb 07, 2017 14:17
Vote: