Don't miss out Virtual Happy Hour this Friday (April 26).

Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Single select checkBox in Block

Ari
Ari
Vote:

Hi, I am new to epi server. I have a requirment. I have checkboxes(3 or 4) in a block but will have to allow to select only single checkbox at a time. Can anyone help me??

Jul 26, 2022 11:41
Vote:

Hi, firstly just as a point of education there's no more episerver, it's Optimizely CMS or Optimizely Content Cloud :-)

Second are these checkboxes on the front end of the site or are they properties on your block content model in the backend. Traditionally it's better to use radio buttons if you only want one option to be allowed to be selected as that's what they are for.

Edited, Jul 26, 2022 12:17
Ari - Jul 26, 2022 12:25
Hi, Thanks for your valuable response. The properties are on the block content model at backend. The first preference is to use checkboxes only one option to be selected. If not checkboxes then as you said radio buttons
Scott Reed - Jul 26, 2022 12:28
Actually normally what I do is just provide a dropdown list and therefore only one option can be selected.
However if you want to use checkboxes you can implement the IValidate interface for the block type and validate that only one has been selected which will stop the editor from being able to publish and show a red error in the validation area https://docs.developers.optimizely.com/content-cloud/v12.0.0-content-cloud/docs/validating-object-instances
Scott Reed - Jul 26, 2022 12:29
Or create a validation attribute. Here is a good blog article on it https://www.wearediagram.com/blog/improving-episervers-content-editing-experience-through-validation
Ari - Jul 26, 2022 12:33
If I want to implement radio buttons will IValidate interface work?
Scott Reed - Jul 26, 2022 13:32
IValidate just validates the IContent as it saves so anything you can expose as a property will work.
Vote: