Don't miss out Virtual Happy Hour this Friday (April 26).

Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Currenct context model is null on POST

Vote:

I'm posting a form to a regular controller and all of the properties are populated except for the currentContext variable.  The currentContext varialble contains the product for the cms page.  I'm new to EpiServer and I'm not sure if I'm descrbing this correctly.

When the Index action is called the currentContext is populated and the page is displayed fine.  But when I post to the AddToCart method the currentContext is null. 

Please see the code below:

TestProductController.cs

[HttpGet]
        public ActionResult Index(TestProduct currentContent, string entryCode = "", int count = 0, string sessionKey = "") 
        {
            var viewModel = _viewModelFactory.Create(currentContent, entryCode);
            viewModel.ItemCount += count;

viewModel.Session = sessionKey == "" ? Guid.NewGuid().ToString() : sessionKey;

return View(viewModel);
        }

[HttpPost]
        public ActionResult AddToCart(TestProduct currentContent, string session, string code) 
        {
            var pageRouteHelper = EPiServer.ServiceLocation.ServiceLocator.Current.GetInstance<EPiServer.Web.Routing.IPageRouteHelper>();
            var page = pageRouteHelper.Page;

_viewModelFactory.AddToCart(currentContent, session, code);

return RedirectToAction("Index", new { entryCode = code, count = 1, sessionKey = session });

}

Index.cshtml

@model Cms.Web.CommerceArea.TestProduct.TestProductViewModel

@using (Html.BeginForm("AddToCart", "TestProduct", new { area = "commercearea" }, FormMethod.Post ))
{
    @Html.HiddenFor(x => x.Session)
    @Html.Hidden("code", Model.Variation.Code)
<div>
    Product Name:@Html.PropertyFor(x => x.Product.Name)
</div>
<div>
    Variation Name: @Html.PropertyFor(x => x.Variation.Name)
</div>
<div>
    Sku: @Html.PropertyFor(x => x.Variation.Code)
</div>
    <div>