Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

A globalization issue

Vote:

Hi,

Perhaps this is not the most appropriate section to post it in, maybe it should go under "Administration" or something, but I thought since the site is in the developing state I thought I'd give it a go.

I've never worked in globalized sites before and I've got a question concerning the article/news-section of the page. The branches in our site will not contain the same articles/news in all the four languages but as it is right now the articles show in the other languages, but in italics since they're not translated and won't be either. So, is there a way to not make the new article/news-pages show in all the languages and instead just show in that particular branch for that specific language? To this date we have ~2000 articles/news all together that we will migrate into this new site and it will be a bit hard to navigate if all they are all showing in all languages.

Best regards

Nov 16, 2009 14:01
Vote:

Hi Peter,

Have you tried looking at your Language Settings for the pages you don't want to display in a certain language?

If your articles are in a parent page, such as "News", and then you have all your child pages underneath the branch "News", then you can right-click on the News page > go to Language Settings > Available languages > Change. Uncheck all the languages you don't want available for these pages.

Then if all the child pages under News have "Inherit settings from the parent page" checked then you should be all set.

Best,
Christine

Nov 16, 2009 17:12
Vote:

Christine,

I've tried doing this but when i click the "News" branch the setting changes for all the languages. For example; I go to the swedish branch and make sure that only swedish is checked and hit save. If I then look in the norwegian branch there is swedish checked here as well. If I uncheck swedish and check norwegian the setting is set to norwegian in the swedish branch as well.