Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

How to integrate EPiServer CMS 6 into existing asp.net 3.5 web site

Vote:

Hi,

I have one asp.net 3.5 application. My client wants some part of the application to be CMS driven (Client has decided to use EPiServer CMS 6) and rest of the application will remain as is.

As far as EPiServer is concerned, I'm just a beginner. Somebody please tell me how to integrate the CMS into my existing application. Also, tell me the configurations that has to be made to get this working.

I've installed EPiServer CMS 6 and Visual Studio 2008 integration files in my system. I can create a new Episerver project in Visual Studio 2008, but that won't help me. Is there a way to integrate the CMS into my existing site and get it to work with minimal coding ?

Do I need to migrate the existing code into the CMS first ? If so, how to do that ??

Please help me out !!!

Abisanka

Nov 25, 2010 6:28
Vote:

There's not nearly enough information here.  For instance, what is the "application"?  It could be anything, and you don't offer any details.

In the end, your app probably needs to be migrated into EPiServer, not the other way around.  In general, EPiServer is the base platform for a Web site it powers.

That said, here are a few options --

EPiServer can co-exist quite happily with ASPX files on the file system.  So there's no reason your app couldn't just run like normal.  You could just run it like normal from a folder in the EPiServer installation.  You could even use the same master page for it, so it could somewhat look the same.

If your application requires some isolation, create a Virtual Directory in the Web site, and run it from there.

Alternately, if you app could be condensed down to a single user control (perhaps with different states on postback), you could embed it as Dynamic Content in an EPiServer page.