Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

EPiServerVsIntegration cannot be installed

Vote:

Hi!

I'm new to EPiServer and VisualStudio, but .NET and C# is more familiar. I've tried a bunch of different ways to install EPiServer and integrate it with Visual Studio 2010/Visual Studio Web Developer Express but I get stuck every time on the integration part! The error message EPiServerVsIntegration gives me: "EPiServer CMS and Visual Studio 2008 or Visual Studio Web Developer Express 2008 must be install".

Does this mean that VS 2010 is out of the question? In that case - where can I get my hands on the 2008 suite?! All stores here in Sweden only seems to sell the latest version (i.e. 2010)... I can not find info on purchasing 2008 on microsoft.com either.

Or am I just not doing the installation correctly?

My installation steps:

1. Install SQL Server Express 2008 R2

2. Install Visual Studio 2010 or Visual Studio Web Developer Express 2010 (I've tried both of them)

3. Install EPiServer CMS 6.0.530

4. Install EPiServerVsIntegration

So, am I on thin ice with the 2010 edition or am I just not doing it right?

Best regards,

Björn

Aug 27, 2010 11:23
Vote:

VS 2010 integration is not officially supported yet, but you can check out this blog post by Paul Smith for information on how to get it to work without having VS 2008 installed. The comments also have valuable information.

Aug 27, 2010 12:39
Vote:

Thank you for your time, but I still don't have the "EPiServer"-option either under "New Web Project" nor "New Project" in VS 2010 :-( The templates doesn't show up on a search either.

I've done exactly as specified in the post and the last comment, even restarted the computer to "reload" the GAC, but to no end. This is getting ridiciolus :-)

Aug 27, 2010 14:34
Vote: