Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Setting Up a New EPiServer Site with Visual Studio

Vote:

I am new to this and I'm following the guide " Setting Up a New EPiServer Site with Visual Studio"  - "Viewing the results"   http://sdk.episerver.com/library/cms6/Developers%20Guide/Setting%20Up%20a%20New%20EPiServer%20Site%20with%20Visual%20Studio.htm#view_result     Everything was successful up to Logging in, the paper suggests to login by 'site address followed by "/util/login.aspx" '. The map util and therefore login.aspx was not created for me when I created an Episerver Visual Studio Project and therefore I can't login from that page. Am I missing something here? What is the best practice to get the login package as well. (  When I'm creating an Episerver standard site by deployment center and then connect to that site by Visual Studio then ofcourse the Login.aspx is there )

Nov 29, 2011 8:46
Vote:

The Page /util/login.aspx is fetched via the VirtualPathProvider. The actual file login.aspx is placed by the EPiServer installation on your computer in C:\Program Files (x86)\EPiServer\CMS\6.1.379.0\Application\Util

Probably you have some problem with the Virtual Path Provider, which should work by default. Please read: http://world.episerver.com/Documentation/Items/Tech-Notes/EPiServer-CMS-6/EPiServer-CMS-60/Virtual-Path-Providers/

Nov 29, 2011 11:22
Vote:

Thanks for the fast reply. It worked out according to the manual after some more tries so I never had to go to the
 Virtual Path Provider.

Nov 30, 2011 8:57
Vote:

Having had many issues wit hthe initial set up of an empty, vanilla EPiServer site, I can say that the most useful resource bar none is to install another site, but also install all the AlloyTech Example site as well.