Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Creating custom property derived from EPiServer.Core.PropertyData

Vote:

Hi, I'm new to Episerver. I just downloaded and installed Episerver 5. I need to create a custom property that contains several types of data. For example string, enumeration, and several integer fileds. I created a new custom property using the VS2005 toolbox controls. I saw that I have to implement ParseToObject and ParseToSelf which accept a string as a parameter. What is the format of this string? Is it a serialized object or what? I can't find any information about this in the documentation that came with the installation. Thanks in advance. Nikolay Raychev ProPeople
Dec 13, 2007 14:23
Vote:

And somthing more... public override EPiServer.Core.PropertyDataType Type { get { // TODO: Write code that returns the PropertyDataType this property is based on. } } When I'm creating a custom property it seems that I must provide the base property type, which is an enumeration of the existing property types in Episerver. But the reason I'm deriving from EPiServer.Core.PropertyData is that I want to create completely new property type not derived from the existing ones. Where is the pint? Am I missing somthing? Nikolay Raychev ProPeople
Dec 13, 2007 16:25
Vote:

Hi! EPiServer has a list of base types that you have to use to store property data. If you have a more complex type that you want to store I would use the longstring type and save the data as xml. It's possible that you can serialize a class as well but I havn't tried that myself.
Dec 13, 2007 17:31
Vote:

Anyway, I made it using long string and used serialization to store my clas as XML. It works fine. But this issue remains... If I just want to make a property from scratch derived from EPiServer.Core.PropertyData why should I set EPiServer.Core.PropertyDataType that shows the base property type(one of the existing) when my new property type does not derive fron none of them?