Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Login Controller, or posting forms in MVC

Vote:

Hi,

I recently started to develop for EPiServer 7 MVC. I have some knowledge about Asp.Net MVC since a few other non-episerver project - it's a great framework. But now I'm confused how this integrates with EPiServer.

Adopting the code from Alloy MVC template, I'm now trying to build a simple login page. I have created a LoginPage (inheriting SitePageData), I have created a view model LoginPageModel (inheriting PageViewModel<LoginPage>) that contains a UserName and Password property, and lastly I have built a view (that uses the LoginPageModel) that renders a simple login form that should POST data back to my LoginPageController.

Now, how would would the LoginPageController look like in terms of action methods? In a "normal" MVC project, I would have setup two actions: 

public ActionResult Index()
{
return View();
}

[HttpPost]
public ActionResult Index(LoginModel model)
{
  // Perform authentication logic
  // ...
}

But in EPiServer, to start with, I just have a method "public ActionResult Index(LoginPage currentPage)". When I add another action method, e.g. "[HttpPost] public ActionResultIndex Foo(LoginPageModel model)", and try to POST to that it responds with a redirect (301 Moved Permanently) and tries to go to the corresponding  GET action, which is not found since there I only allow POST (as indicated [HttpPost]).

Why does redirect occur and how do I setup up the controller actions? :o

Thank you!

Aug 22, 2013 14:12
Vote:

ActionResult Index(LoginPage currentPage){} - you can also have an empty method without parameters and get the currentPage object like this instead: var currentPage = PageContext.Page as LoginPage; (cleaner imho).

When it comes to posting a form to your controller, how does your view look? (basically your Html.BeginForm method).

Frederik

Aug 22, 2013 14:33
Vote: